http://culturemoroccocom.blogspot.com/

Join The Community

Premium WordPress Themes

dimanche 2 janvier 2011

Create Powerball Effect for Movie Poster

This tutorial will cover how to create a powerball (or energy ball) effect. It also shows briefly on the basic layout of a typical movie poster. The longest tutorial in 10Steps.SG.

Preview of Final Image

Create a new document of 500×700 pixels. Fill the background with #000000. Create a new layer and name it as Flare. Fill the Flare layer with #000000. Selecting Flare layer, go to Filter > Render > Lens Flare. Choose 105mm Prime, and set the Brightness to 120. Position the Flare Center to the center of the preview. Then go to Image > Adjustments > Hue/Saturation. Check on Colorize. Set the Hue to 30, Saturation to 50 and Lightness to 0.
Duplicate the Flare layer. Rename the duplicated layer to Wave. Selecting the Wave layer, go to Filter > Liquify. Choose the Twirl Clockwise tool and enter the settings as shown in the diagram below. Create a twirl on the duplicated flare.
Create a new layer above Wave. Name the new layer as Burst. Set your foreground color to #D18803. Using the Brush tool with size 3px, draw a few crisscross lines. You may wish to press and hold down the Shift Key while drawing so your lines will be straight.
Selecting the Burst layer, go to Filter > Liquify. Choose the Twirl Clockwise tool and enter the settings shown below. Move your cursor to the center of the crisscross lines, click and hold down the mouse button till there is a small twirl forming.
Go to Filter > Blur > Radial Blur. Set the method to Zoom and quality to Good. Shift the Blur Center near to the right of the preview. Hit OK once done. Duplicate the Burst layer. Set the blend mode of the duplicated Burst layer to Color Dodge.
Download the Photoshop Brushes Set 11 from r0man.de. Load the brush into the brush palette and choose fl33. Create a new layer and name it as Electricity. Set the foreground color to #FFFFFF and paint the effect with an appropriate size.
Right-click on the Electricity layer and choose Blending Options. Activate Outer Glow and enter the settings shown in the diagram below. Now you have the powerball. Create a group folder and put all these layers into it. Name this group as Powerball. Set the Blend Mode of Powerball folder to Screen. Hide the group folder for now.
Download the Desert 02 from neverFading Stock. Place in the image and resize to fit the document. Using the Blur tool with size 150px, blur the top part of the desert. Then use the Eraser tool in Airbrush mode and size 100px, erase the bottom of the desert horizontally so there is a fade into the black background.
Download the DBZ 9 from Ahrum Stock. Crop out the man using either Pen tool or Extract filter. Place the man in the middle of the desert. Using the Eraser tool, erase slightly at the bottom below his arms.
Using the Pen tool, draw a path along the man’s right arm like the one shown in the diagram.
Unhide the Powerball folder now. Move the Powerball close to the man’s palms.
Go to Paths tab, select the path you have drawn and click on Load Path as Selection button. Go to Select > Modify > Feather. Set the radius to 20px. Back to Layers tab, select the Powerball folder and click on Add Layer Mask button.
Create a new layer and name it as Glow. Using Brush tool, set the mode to Airbrush, color to #D18803 and size to 200px. Paint a large dot on the powerball area. Set the blend mode of Glow layer to Multiply.
Download some dragons from Markopolio Stock. Place a few dragons at the background. Go to Image > Adjustments > Hue/Saturation. Tweak the colors of the dragons so they fit into the overall color scheme. Go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur. Blur these dragons with 4px. Select the man layer, go to Filter > Sharpen > Sharpen. This is to distinguish better between the foreground and background items.
We are almost there. Now create a Levels Adjustment Layer and set the values to 21, 0.96, 231. Then follow by a Hue/Saturation Adjustment Layer and set the Saturation to 15.
The last thing you need to do is to insert your movie title along with some random names of movie makers. I shall not go into details on those. Hope you all like this tutorial.

Greatly appreciate if there is a stumble or digg!

If your website is about the movie news and you would like to generate a power ball effect for movie poster, then best web hosting guides and the web hosting packages which provides the free domain names registration option is key to triumph. Don’t let down the internet marketing option and SEO, to rank your website top of the list.

Creating an Unique Profile Image


Preparation:

We need to download a profile image from Katanaz Stock for this tutorial or something similar.

Download Female Stock 14.

All rights of these resources belong to their respective owners.



Step 1a – Defining Patterns:

Creating a new document of 3 x 3 pixels.

Using Pencil tool with size 1px, paint the pixels with the colors stated in the diagram.

Select all or Ctrl+A, then go to Edit > Define Pattern. Save this pattern as Pattern 1. Close this document once you are done.



Step 1b – Defining Patterns:

Creating a new document of 3 x 3 pixels.

Similar to Step 1a, use Pencil tool with size 1px and paint the pixels with the colors stated in the diagram.

Select all or Ctrl+A, then go to Edit > Define Pattern. Save this pattern as Pattern 2. Close this document once you are done.



Step 1c – Defining Patterns:

Creating a new document of 3 x 3 pixels.

Perform similar procedures as in Step 1a and 1b. Name this pattern as Pattern 3.



Step 1d – Defining Patterns:

Creating a new document of 3 x 3 pixels.

Perform similar procedures as in Step 1a, 1b and 1c. Name this pattern as Pattern 4.



Step 2 – Create Path Outlines:

Creating a new document of 750×550 pixels.

Open up Female Stock 14 that you have downloaded and resize it like the one shown on the left.

Using the Pen tool, create a path along the outline of the female model. Hide this layer once you are done.



Step 3 – Filling Base Pattern:.

Create a new layer and name it as Type 1.

Go to Paths tab, select the path layer you created and click on ‘Load Path as Selection’ button.

Select Paint Bucket tool, set the mode to Pattern and choose Pattern 1 you created at Step 1a. Back to Type 1 layer and fill the selection with this pattern.



Step 4 – Posterize Image:

Unhide the female model image.

Go to Image > Adjustments > Desaturate. Go to Image > Adjustments > Shadow and Highlights. Set the Shadows to 50 and Highlights to 0. Then Image > Adjustments > Posterize. Set the levels to 6.

Rearrange this layer to be above Type 1 layer.



Step 5a – Filling Patterns:

Create a new layer and name it as Type 2.

Select the model layer. Make a small selection around the dark grey area (just below the eye) with Rectangular Marquee tool. Go to Select > Similar.

Select Paint Bucket tool, set the mode to Pattern and choose Pattern 4 you created at Step 1d. Fill the selection with it.



Step 5b – Filling Patterns:

Create a new layer and name it as Type 3.

Select the model layer. Make a small selection around the middle grey area (left side of face) with Rectangular Marquee tool. Go to Select > Similar.

Select Paint Bucket tool, set the mode to Pattern and choose Pattern 2 you created at Step 1b. Fill the selection with it.



Step 5c – Filling Patterns:

Create a new layer and name it as Type 4.

Select the model layer. Make a small selection around the middle grey area (right side of face) with Rectangular Marquee tool. Go to Select > Similar.

Select Paint Bucket tool, set the mode to Pattern and choose Pattern 3 you created at Step 1c. Fill the selection with it.



Step 6 – Masking the Layers:

Go to Paths tab and select the path you have drawn earlier. Click on ‘Load Path as Selection’ button.

Back to Layers tab, select the Pattern 2 layer and click on ‘Add Layer Mask’ button.

Repeat the same for Pattern 3 and 4 layers.



Step 7 – Adding Color:

Create a Hue/Saturation Adjustment Layer above all the other layers.

Check on Colorize. Set the Hue to 185, Saturation to 55 and Lightness to 17.



Optional:

At the end, I added a gradient background to it with the same color set in Step 7.

Hope you have enjoy the session. Thanks!

Click here to view the final image

Create a Face Paint Dripping Effect


Preparation:

We need a face image of Angelina Jolie here. Also we need a dark background to create a nice contrast with the face color. I’m using Dark Wood Wallpaper from zygat3r.

Download Angelina Jolie.
Download Dark Wood Wallpaper.

All rights of these resources belong to their respective owners.



Step 1 – Setting Up Background:

Create a document of size 900×660 pixels..

Open up the Dark Wood wallpaper and resize it to fit into the document.



Step 2a – Cropping out the Face:

Open up the image of Angelina Jolie and place it into the document as shown in the diagram.



Step 2b – Cropping out the Face:

Using the Eraser tool, remove the background and both eyes of the image.

Alternative Method:
Instead of using Eraser tool, you may create a Layer Mask for the face layer. Painting with #000000 to mask the unwanted areas. And #FFFFFF to reveal.

Click here to see other types of cropping methods.



Step 3 – Removing Facial Hair:

Selecting the Face layer and go to Filter > Blur > Surface Blur. Enter 5px for Radius and 8 levels for Threshold.

Create a new layer and name it as Cover. Using Eye Dropper tool, pick a color around the facial hair.

Then select the Brush tool, set its opacity to 30% and size to 25pt, paint on Cover layer to hide the unwanted hair.



Step 4 – Removing Half of Face:

Using the Eraser tool again, remove the bottom half of the face like the one shown in the diagram.

Remove the left ear as well.



Step 5a – Adding Drips:

Creating a new layer and name it as Drips.

Using the Eye Dropper tool, pick a color close to the bottom border. Then use the Brush tool to paint downwards. Repeat this for several times with various Brush sizes.

Tips:
Hold down Shift key while painting to maintain a straight line.



Step 5b – Adding Drips:.

Touch up on the areas where every drip starts.

There should be nice curves in between the heads of the drips.

Merge the Drips, Cover and Face layer once you are done. Rename this new merged layer as Paint.



Step 6 – Adding Emboss Effect:

Right-click on Paint layer and select Blending Options.

Check on Bevel and Emboss. Set the Style to Inner Bevel, Depth to 165, Size to 50, Angle to 55, Altitute to 40, Screen Opacity to 0%, Shadow Color to #DCA288, Shadow Opacity to 100%. Leave the rest of the settings as default.



Step 7a – Creating Glow:

Create a new layer and name it as Glow.

Set the Brush color to #FFFFFF and size to 4pt. Create a path with Pen tool like the one shown in the diagram.

Using the Pen tool, right-click on the path drawn and select Stroke Path. Choose Brush and check on Simulate Pressure. Hit OK once you are done.



Step 7b – Creating Glow:

Duplicate the Glow layer.

Select the upper Glow layer and go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur. Set the Radius to 3px.



Step 7c – Creating Glow:

Repeat Step 7a and 7b for more glowing strokes.

Focus the glow on the right borders only as the light source comes from that side.



Step 8 – Adding Glitters:

Create a new layer above the rest and name it as Glitter.

Using the Brush tool with color #FFFFFF and size 2pt, paint a cross. Then use the Airbrush Eraser tool with size 65pt, fade out the four edges of the cross.

Duplicate a few of the Glitter layers and spread them over the face.



Optional:

At the end, I added some texts with the similar emboss effect. Hope you have enjoy the session. Thanks!

Click here to view the final image.

Create Energy Lines around a Dancer


Preparation:

We will need a series of images of a woman dancing. There is a good set of them found at Mjranum Stock.

Visit gallery of Mjranum Stock.

All rights of these resources belong to their respective owners.



Step 1 – Setting Up Background:

Create a document of size 900×660 pixels..

Set the foreground color to #09294B and background to #000000.

Using the Radial Gradient tool, create a gradient like the one shown in the diagram.



Step 2 – Creating Blue Mist:

Create a new layer above Background and name it as Blue Mist. Set the foreground color to #FFFFFF and background to #000000.

Go to Filter > Render > Clouds. Then follow by Filter > Distort > Wave. Leave the settings as default and hit OK.

Set the Blend Mode of Blue Mist to Color Dodge.



Step 3a – Cropping the Dancer:

Open up one of the dancer images.

Crop her out of the background. You may refer to this post for the various types of cropping methods.

Resize the dancer and position her the way shown on the left.



Step 3b – Cropping the Dancer:

Repeat Step 3a for 3 more of the dancer images.

Resize and position them in such a way that they look like a chain of movements.



Step 4 – Adding Reflections:

Duplicate each of the four dancer images.

Flip them vertically by going to Edit > Transform > Flip Vertical. Position the mirrored images directly below the original ones.

Using the Airbrush Eraser tool with size 300, fade the mirrored images downwards.



Step 5a – Creating Wavy Lines:

Select the layer of the first dancer image. Using the Rectangular Marquee tool, make a rectangle selection of 1 pixel width. Make sure the selection covers from the dress to the skin of the dancer.

Press CTRL+C then follow by CTRL+V. This will create a new layer with the selected area. Rename this layer to Wavy Lines.



Step 5b – Creating Wavy Lines:.

With the Wavy Lines layer selected, go to Edit > Free Transform.

Scale the width of the pixels horizontally as shown in the diagram.



Step 5c – Creating Wavy Lines:

Go to Edit > Transform > Warp.

Distort the color lines such that they form several waves.

You may hide the background to have a clearer view during the distortion.



Step 5d – Creating Wavy Lines:

Using the Eraser tool, remove some parts of the wavy lines so that it seems moving between the dancers. Duplicate the Wavy Lines layer. Select the upper Wavy Lines layer, go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur. Set the radius to 3 pixels and hit OK.

Set the Blend Mode of this layer to Screen. Set the Blend Mode of the lower Wavy Lines layer to Linear Dodge (Add).



Step 5e – Creating Wavy Lines:

Repeat Step 5a, 5b and 5c for the arm area.



Step 5f – Creating Wavy Lines:

Repeat Step 5d for the arm area.



Step 6a – Create Glowing Lines:

Create a new layer above the rest and name it as White Stroke. Using the Pen tool, draw a path like the one shown in the diagram.

Set the Brush tool to Airbrush 3 pixels. Select the Pen tool again, right-click on the path you have just drawn and choose Stroke Path. Check on Simulate Pressure and hit OK.



Step 6b – Create Glowing Lines:

Right-click on the White Stroke layer and choose Blending Option.

Choose Outer Glow. Set the Blend Mode to Color Dodge, Opacity to 100%, color to #0072FF, Size to 5 and leave the rest as default.



Step 6c – Create Glowing Lines:

Repeat Step 6a and 6b for more glowing lines around the dancers.



Step 7a – Create Glowing Dots:

Create a new layer and name it as Glowing Dot. Using the Brush tool, set it to Airbrush 17 pixels and color #FFFFFF, paint a dot near the glowing lines you have drawn earlier.

Right-click on the layer and choose Blending Options. Go to Outer Glow and change the Blend Mode to Linear Dodge (Add), Opacity to 100%, color to #008AFF, Size to 24 and leave the rest as default.



Step 7b – Create Glowing Dots:

Repeat Step 7a for more dots around the glowing lines.



Step 8a – Create Wavy Background:

Repeat Step 5a and 5b.

Go to Edit > Transform > Warp. Distort the color lines differently this time. Make sure it stretches to all four corners of the document.

Rearrange this layer to be just above the Blue Mist layer.



Step 8b – Create Wavy Background:

Duplicate the background wave layer.

Select the duplicated layer and go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur. Set the radius to 10 pixels.

Change the Blend Mode of this layer to Color Dodge.



Optional:

And we are done! I adjusted the colors a little further using the Hue/Saturation and Curves Adjustment Layers.

Hope you have enjoy the session. Thanks!

Click here to view the final image.