http://culturemoroccocom.blogspot.com/

Join The Community

Premium WordPress Themes

jeudi 23 décembre 2010

Creating a Grunge Rock Poster


Preparation

You will need a beautiful guitarist from Mjranum Stock, Vector Speakers from Thegoldenmane and New York Sinatra from Antoine Mallet.

Click here to download Guitarist.
Click here to download Vector Speakers.
Click here to download New York Sinatra.

All rights of these resources belong to their respective owners.



Step 1a – Cropping Figures

Create a document with size 800×600 pixels.

Open up Oh Yeah 3 and crop out the figure using the Filter > Extract tool.

Refer to this post for other methods on extraction.



Step 1b – Cropping Figures

Do the same extraction for the other 2 images, Oh Yeah 4 and 5. You can find these other figures in the gallery of Mjranum Stock. Trust me, you gonna love his stock images.

Position the figures as shown in the diagram.



Step 2 – Setting Up Background

Create a new layer below the figures and name it as Colorbars.

Using Rectangular Marquee tool, draw several boxes and fill them up with different colors.

The colors used in the example are (starting from the left) #F17D0C, #780606, #000000, #DC0C0C, #EE9D0D, #E58C0C and #F4F424.



Step 3a – Create Displacement Map

Create a new document with size 800×600.

Select the Paint Bucket tool, set the style to Pattern and choose a default pattern call Textured Tile.

Apply this pattern by clicking onto the Background layer.



Step 3b – Create Displacement Map

Unlock the Background layer by double-clicking on it and rename it to Texture.

Go to Image > Adjustments > Desaturate. Then follow by Image > Adjustments > Levels. Set the values to be 130, 0, 220.

Save this document as Displace.PSD. You may close this document after that.



Step 4a – Adding Grunge Effect

Select all the figures and Colorbars layers, go to Edit > Free Transform.

Rotate these images at -15 angle.



Step 4b – Adding Grunge Effect

Now select the Colorbars layer and go to Filter > Distort > Displace.

Set both Horizontal and Vertical Scale to 20. Choose Stretch to Fit and Repeat Edge Pixels.

Hit OK and choose to open the Displace.PSD saved at Step 3b.



Step 4c – Adding Grunge Effect

Duplicate a layer for each figure, Oh Yeah 3, 4 and 5.

Select the bottom copy of each figure, go to Filter > Distort > Displace.

Set both Horizontal and Vertical Scale to 20. Choose Stretch to Fit and Repeat Edge Pixels.

Hit OK and choose to open the Displace.PSD saved at Step 3b.



Step 5 – Adding a Footer

Create a new layer and name it as Footer.

Using the Polygonal Lasso tool, draw a selection similar to the diagram and fill it with #000000.



Step 6 – Adding Burst

Create a new layer between the Colorbars and figures and name it as Burst. Using Custom Shape tool and choose Registration Target 2 path. Go to Edit > Free Transform Path and resize the shape as shown on the left.

Go to Paths tab and Ctrl+left click on the path to load selection. Go back to Layers tab, select Burst layer and fill it with #000000. set the Blend Mode to Overlay and opacity to 50%.



Step 7 – Adding Speakers

Open up the Speakers_by_Thegoldenmane.AI in Photoshop.

Set the resolution to 300 and leave the rest as default.

Using the Rectangular Marquee tool, select the speakers you need and drag them as layers above the Burst layer. Go to Edit > Free Transform to rotate and resize them as shown in the diagram.



Step 8 – Adding New York City

Open up the New York Sinatra AI in Photoshop.

Set the resolution to 300 and leave the rest as default.

Using the Rectangular Marquee tool, select the city and drag it as layer directly below the Footer layer. Go to Edit > Free Transform to rotate and resize it as shown in the diagram.



Step 9 – Adding Texts

Type in some information at the footer area.

And you are almost done!.



Step 10 – Adjusting the Levels

I did abit more adjustments to the Levels in general by creating a new Levels Adjustment Layer.

The values are set at 38, 1, 223.

Click here to see the final image.



Optional

You may add another Hue/Saturation Adjustment Layer and make the design more pinkish.

I set the Hue to -80, Saturation to 0 and Lightness to 0.

Click here to see the final image.



Optional

Instead of making it pink, you may wish to turn the whole design into a sephia tone by adding a Hue/Saturation Adjustment Layer.

Check on colorize and set the Hue to 45, Saturation to 30 and Lightness to 0.

Click here to see the final image.

Now the website hosting has become more stretchy for you due to the cheap vps hosting, which has revolutionized the whole scene of hosting. If you have a plan to create a grunge rock poster or the smoke-fading-effect, you have to opt for the dedicated server to grab the heavy traffic of your websites.

Draw your Snowman in Photoshop


Step 1 – Setting Up Background

Create a document with size 750×550 pixels.

Select the Gradient tool and create a gradient seen in the diagram. The colors (from the left) are #FFFFFF, #759CC3 and #02143A.

Drag this gradient from the bottom upwards..



Step 2a – Create Snowballs

Create a new layer and name it as Snow Body.

Select the Gradient tool and create a radial gradient as shown in the diagram. The colors (from the left) are #FFFFFF, #B8B7BD and #FFFFFF.

Draw a circular selection on Snow Body layer and fill in the gradient you have just created. Start the gradient from top-left side.



Step 2b – Create Snowballs

Select the Snow Body layer and go to Filter > Noise > Add Noise.

Set the amount to 2, distribution to Gaussian and check on Monochromatic.

Hit OK once you are done.



Step 2c – Create Snowballs

Create a new layer and name it as Snow Head.

Repeat Step 2a and 2b with a slightly smaller circle on the Snow Head layer.



Step 3a – Drawing Scarf

Create a new layer above the Snow layers and name it as Scarf.

Using the Pen tool, draw a general path of how your scarf will look like.



Step 3b – Drawing Scarf

Go to Paths tab and select the path you have drawn. Click on Load path as Selection button.

Go back to Layers tab and select Scarf layer. Fill the selection with #9F0004.



Step 3c – Drawing Scarf

Create a new layer and name it as Scarf Folds.

Use the Lasso tool and draw the folds you want on the scarf.

Use the Soft Brush tool of size 50px and color #4F0101, paint along the lower part of the selection. The selection will prevent you from painting any areas outside of it.



Step 3d – Drawing Scarf

Repeat Step 3c with a few more folds on the Scarf Folds layer.



Step 4 – Drawing Snow Cap

Create a new layer and name it as Snow Cap.

Repeat Step 2a (except the gradient colors are #870203, #210102 and #870203) and Step 2b.

Create another circular selection and use it to delete away part of the red ball you have drawn earlier.



Step 5 – Drawing the Eyes

Create a new layer and name it as Eyes.

Draw two simple circles and fill them with #000000. Right-click on the Eyes layer and choose Blending Options.

Activate Drop Shadow and set its opacity to 30%, distance to 3 and size to 0. Leave the rest of settings as default.



Step 6a – Drawing the Nose

Create a new layer and name it as Nose.

Using Pen tool, draw a cone shaped path. You may need to Convert Point tool to adjust the edges a little.



Step 6b – Drawing the Nose

Go to Paths tab and make the cone path as a selection.

Back to Layers tab and on the Nose layer, fill it with linear gradient starting from top (colors are #FFB036 and #FE2E00).

I found the nose is too sharp so made it blunt by drawing a small circle at the tip and erase the excessive portion.



Step 6c – Drawing the Nose

Create a new layer below Nose and name it as Nose Shadow.

Using the Polygonal Lasso tool, create a triangle selection and fill it with #000000.

Set the opacity of Nose Shadow layer to 20%.



Step 7a – Creating Furball

Select the Dune Grass brush from one of the default brush presets.

Open up the Brush Palette and key in the settings shown on the left.



Step 7b – Creating Furball

Key in the settings shown on the left.



Step 7c – Creating Furball

Key in the settings shown on the left.



Step 7d – Creating Furball

Key in the settings shown on the left.



Step 7e – Creating Furball

Create a new layer and name it as Furball.

Set the foreground color to #9b0004 and brush size to 20. Then start to paint a furball on the layer by going round and round a point continuously till you get a furball with size similar to mine in the diagram.



Step 7f – Creating Furball

Duplicate another 3 furballs from the layer you have just drawn.

Resize and position them like the ones on the left.



Step 8 – Adding Snow Dust

Create a new layer and name it as Snow Dust.

Select the Dry Brush from one of the default brush presets.

Set the foreground color to #FFFFFF, brush size to 30, and paint some snow dust on the cap and furballs.



Step 9 – Adding Snow Floor

Create a new topmost layer and name it as Snow Floor.

Use Brush tool with color #FFFFFF, paint a wavy floor at the bottom of the snowman.

Then set the foreground color to #CCCCCC and add in some shadows to it.



Optional

Ok there we have the snowman! i have added some snow at the background to complete the whole design.

Hope everyone will enjoy this tutorial and have a merry christmas this year end.

Click here to view the final image.

If you have more than one website, you have to opt for dedicated hosting, which has become order of the day. To draw a snowman in Photoshop is not an effortless task. You have to go for the best web hosting package with free domain registration option. The crucial purpose of any website is the earn more, for this rationale the new emerging trend of search engine marketing should be take into consideration.

Create Architecture with Pixel Stretching


Preparations:

In this tutorial, we will need an image that you wish to create the stretch pixel effect with.

I’m using a photo of Singapore skyscraper taken by archlover. Click here to view the original image.

All rights of these resources belong to their respective owners.



Step 1 – Setting Up Background:

Create a document with size 750×550 pixels.

Fill the background with #000000.



Step 2 – Create Reference Layer:

Open up the photo and drag it into the document. Name this layer as Reference.

Set the opacity of this image layer to 40%.

This layer is to be used as a reference when we are doing the following steps.



Step 3a – Stretch Vertically:

Select the Reference layer. Zoom in the image so it is easier to work with.

Using the Rectangular Marquee tool, make selection with 1 pixel height as shown in the diagram. Select only the part where you wish to stretch the colors.

Press Ctrl+C.



Step 3b – Stretch Vertically:

Hide the Reference layer by clicking on the Eye icon.

Press Ctrl+V. This will create a new layer with the row of pixels you have selected in Step 3a.

Go to Edit > Free Transform. Stretch the pixels downwards.



Step 3c – Stretch Vertically:

You may also select some smaller areas and stretch them further so there are more variations in the stretched items.



Step 4a – Stretch Horizontally:

Unhide the Reference layer by clicking on the Eye icon again.

Similar to Step 3a, select a column with 1 pixel width using the Rectangular Marquee tool.

Press Ctrl+C.



Step 4b – Stretch Horizontally:

Hide the Reference layer.

Press Ctrl+V.

Go to Edit > Free Transform. Stretch the pixels horizontally.



Step 4c – Stretch Horizontally:

Select part of the stretched pixels and go to Edit > Free Transform again.

This time we create some perspective to it. Go to Edit > Transform > Skew.

Move your cursor over the border of the Transform grid till you see a double-sided arrow. Left-click and drag your cursor downwards.



Step 5a – Create Architecture:

Zoom out to have an overview of the buildings you created so far.



Step 5b – Create Architecture:

With the same methods stated in Step 3 and 4, create the rest of the buildings as shown in the diagram.



Step 5c – Create Architecture:

You may adjust the opacity (around 30-60%) and overlap some of the buildings to create a better effect.



Step 6 – Cropping Objects:

Let us mix some cropped objects to the foreground.

Duplicate the original photo. Select the duplicated layer and create a Layer Mask on it.

Using Soft Brush tool with color #000000, paint the areas that you wish to hide on the Layer Mask. You may touch up on the mask by painting with white and black colors.



Step 7 – Adding Halftone Effects:

Download halftone graphics at Vecteezy here. Open up the file in Illustrator. Select one of the halftone effects and press Ctrl+C.

Back to Photoshop and press Ctrl+V. Select Paste as Smart Object. Resize the graphic to your desired size.

Right-click on the layer and choose Blending Options. Activate Color Overlay and choose the color you wish to replace with.



Optional:

I added texts and some more halftone effects to the background.

This is a very simple tutorial that I hope will be useful to everyone reading it.

Click here to view the final image.

Below are the images that inspire me to write this tutorial :D
Garbage designed by Jomino Mitdarchitec_ure designed by Designers Republic